In this section: Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) | Members | Bylaws & Meeting Minutes

Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) was passed by Congress in response to concerns regarding the environmental and safety hazards posed by the storage and handling of toxic chemicals. These concerns were triggered by the 1984 disaster in Bhopal, India, caused by an accidental release of methylisocyanate. The release killed or severely injured more than 2000 people.

Emergency Planning was created as Chapter 3750 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC) in December 1988.The federal regulations under EPCRA are listed in 40 CFR, Part 355. Ohio's implementing regulations can be found as Chapter 3750 of the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC). (The SERC provides current copies/revisions of the ORC & OAC to LEPCs. EPCRA outlines the composition, jurisdiction and responsibilities of the SERC and LEPCs and defines four basic types of reporting. These are:

  • EHS Notification and Emergency Planning
  • Emergency Spill/Release Notification
  • Chemical List and Annual reporting
  • Toxic Chemical Release Reporting


Our objectives include implementing the local emergency planning committee rules and requirements of SARA Title III, to prepare and maintain a comprehensive chemical emergency response plan for Trumbull County and to provide information to the public upon request.

How to Report a Release

Citizens who become aware of an unreported release of a hazardous substance into the environment should report it to the local fire or law enforcement officials or the Trumbull County LEPC.

Kevin Kuriatnyk, HAZMAT Chief
LEPC/Release Phone Line
trumbull county hazmat
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

2021-2023 Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) Members

  • Fire

    Chief Kevin Kuriatnyk
    Trumbull County Hazardous Materials Response Team
    Chief Ken Nussle
    Warren City Fire Department
  • Law

    Thomas Domes
    Kent State Trumbull Security Manager
  • Elected Official

    Lawrence D’Amico
    Trumbull County Coroner
    Rebecca Whitman
    Hartford Township Trustee
  • Emergency Management

    John E. Hickey
    Trumbull County EMA Director
    Chuck Sexton
    910th Air Reserve Station Emergency Manager
  • Hospital

  • First Aid

    Kristen Gallagher
    American Red Cross
  • Health

    Susan Coleman
    Trumbull County Combined Health District
    Sandy Swan
    Trumbull County Combined Health District
  • Environmental

    Kurt Kollar
    Ohio EPA
  • Transportation

    Grant Taylor
    Eastgate Regional
    Afrodite Altiere
    Youngstown Warren Regional Airport
  • Media

  • Community Group

  • Industry

    Lisa Taddei
    First Energy/Ohio Edison
    Gerald King
    Foxxcon Director of Safety
  • Other

    Shara Taylor
    Trumbull County Commissioners
    Mauro Cantalamessa
    Trumbull County Commissioners
  • John Saulitis
    Direction Home of Eastern Ohio
    Kathleen Meszaros
    Trumbull County Coroner

Local Emergency Planning Committee Bylaws

LEPC Committee Bylaws

LEPC Meeting Minutes